Emergent Territory

2013 Memory

*See it in Arabic Below!

COVER LETTER

To Home Work Space 2013/2014

At Ashkal-Alwan The Lebanese Association For Plastic Arts, Lebanon.

Status: Accepted.

(Edited 2019)

Due to my work, I think when I adapt a space in various times it haunts me. This lately was the sound of the Traffic-light in Berlin City this winter which I could experience each time I am near.

I don’t know why this sound had a presence which is still now haunting me…

Sounds of machines do haunt me, they contribute to an anxiety, sometimes I feel they are colonizers of us the “Human”; however, we need them and we create them.

This makes me wonder about when a feeling is exiled, when it is “displaced” from one place to another one…Are spaces, areas of be-longing or not-longing? They exist alone or with a signifier?

Sometimes worlds have no “nations” they do exist, they are there.

Judith Butler says: “Fantasy is not the opposite of reality; it is what reality forecloses and as a result it defines the limits of reality, constituting it as its constitutive outside.”

I would like to evoke these “Strange Attractors” …

I wonder too about something I noticed in the open call about “Work Without Work”,

I find this interesting in various fashions and linked to various currencies involving the notions of “labor” “surplus” “capital” and “aesthetics”.

I do not know if I developed enough what I want to say in this letter but a dead-line is coming up and I want a lot to attend this program, it is talking to me, and I think it can be a big contribution to the work that I wish to make and implement later on.

Untitled
Photo from lecture : “Surgeons & Magicians: International Modernism and the Lebanese Art Historical Context”

بسبب عملي ، أعتقد أنه عندما أقوم بالتكيّف مع فضاء ما في أوقات مختلفة فإنه يطاردني. هذا في الآونة الأخيرة كان صوت ضوء المرور في مدينة برلين هذا الشتاء الذي يمكن أن أختبره في كل مرّة أقترب فيها. اشارة

لا أعرف سبب وجود هذا الصوت الذي لا يزال يطاردني الآن.

أصوات الآلات تلاحقني ، فهي تساهم في القلق ، وأحيانًا أشعر أنها مستعمرة لنا “الإنسان” ؛ ومع ذلك ، نحن بحاجة إليها ونقوم بإنشائها.

هذا يجعلني أتساءل عندما يتم نفي الشعور ، عندما يكون “منفى” من مكان إلى آخر … هل الفضاءات أو مناطق الانتماء أو عدم الانتماء توجد وحدها أو مع الدال؟

في بعض الأحيان ليس للعالم “أمم” موجودة…

تقول جوديث بتلر: “الخيال ليس عكس الواقع ؛ هذا هو الواقع الذي يمنعه ​​الواقع ، ونتيجة لذلك ، يحدد حدود الواقع ، ويشكلها كهيكلية في الخارج”

أود أن أثير عبارة “الجاذبون الغريبون”” …

أتساءل أيضًا عن شيء لاحظته في المكالمة المفتوحة حول “العمل بدون عمل”

أجد هذا مثيرًا للاهتمام في طرق مختلفة ويرتبط بعملات مختلفة تتضمن مفاهيم “رأس المال” “الفائض” “العمل” و الجماليات””

لا أعرف ما إذا كنت قد وضعت ما يكفي لأقوله في هذه الرسالة ولكن هناك خطًا قادمًا وأريد كثيرا حضور هذا البرنامج،  أعتقد أنه يمكن أن يكون مساهمة كبيرة للعمل الذي أرغب في تنفيذه في وقت لاحق.

29019329_1700303773383751_2018267925_n

March 2018

“Recording Movement3”

New Art Video , Duration 2mn maximum , March 2018.

“Recording Movement3” Art Video By Mo Maria Sarkis,

Editing By Mo Maria Sarkis & Christine Safi,

Copyright© “Recording Movement3” Art Video, Mo Maria Sarkis , March 2018.

When I look at the sea, it reminds me of the summer and the Mediterranean nature
In Lebanon the place where I grew and which shaped some aspects of my identity…
The numbers from ATM receipts and machines are part of our contemporary life as well…
Now computers, machines, robotics, are present more and more in the workforce in some countries and this is one cause of unemployment of human labor…
This leaves us with an open question: what does shape our identity nowadays? What is “culture” ? is it language/mother-tongue ? is it related to the environment, the nature, the city, the development etc. ?
For example, Linguist Noam Chomsky propose that all human have one language device inside them and this means that Human have one only language but then through time Human developed new language systems in order to differ themselves and create nations, identities etc.
So I am not going to answer this question directly but rather keep a position of reflection on this subject through my new artwork…

37011713_1631814880250571_765879766518595584_n (1)
Still from Art Video “Recording movement3”

To be continued… 😉

Leave a comment